With its focus on design thinking, technology education supports students to be innovative, reflective and critical in designing new models, products, software, systems and tools to benefit people while taking account of their impact on cultural, ethical, environmental and economic conditions.

Just recently the Ministry of Education revised the Technology learning area to strengthen the positioning of Digital Technologies in The New Zealand Curriculum. The goal of this change is to ensure that all learners can become digitally capable individuals

The technology learning area has three strands:

Technological Practice, Technological Knowledge, and Nature of Technology.

These three strands are embedded within each of five technological areas:

  • computational thinking for digital technologies
  • designing and developing digital outcomes
  • designing and developing materials outcomes
  • designing and developing processed outcomes
  • design and visual communication.

At year 9 and 10 the students will explore all areas of the technology – Hospitality, Construction Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Digital Technology and Design and Visual Communication.

From Level One to Level Three they have the option of choosing what technology they would like to pursue for NCEA.